Pre-telegraphy Memo

MEMO – Final

To: Professor Steven Schneider and Ryan Lizardi
From: Azra Kadic

Date: February 11, 2017
Re: Module 2 Pre-Telegraphic Final Memo

Pre-Telegraphic Information Product
The revolutionary printing press, invented by Johannes Gutenberg in 1440, increased mass communication between individuals. More specifically, the invention gave way to the spread of various information throughout the world, especially religious knowledge.

Message
The primary message of this blog is to study the advancement of information technology from the early Pre-telegraphic era to the 21st century technology era. The blog is a great way to communicate the message of advancement through the advancement of the four sites that I will be creating throughout the semester. Even though I will have different outputs for each module, I plan to keep note of everything in the blog to continue learning about the different features WordPress has to offer.

This specific blog contains details about the printing press itself, along with the effects it had on individuals throughout the world. I designed a site that is specific to the Pre-telegraphic era along with blog posts to fit the different categories of the printing press evolution which include mass communication, spread of knowledge and religion, and the rapid production of books and print materials. I also decided to add in another blog post to relate the printing press to the print technology of today. This memo can also be found on the site as a blog.

Target Audience
Because my blog contains four sites that focus on the Pre-telegraphy, Electronics, Computing and the 21st Century Technology, the intended audience for this project are students who have an interest in the evolution of technology. The students will be able to learn about the advancement of technology through the advancement of design outputs, which will all be showcased in WordPress.

Platform
The WordPress blogging platform will be used to create this information product. I decided to use WordPress for this project since I have never used it before, or any other blogging websites for that fact. Therefore, the main reason I wanted to work with WordPress was so that I can get familiar with the tools provided along with blogging in general. After this semester, I am planning on starting my own lifestyle blog. The blog is available for viewing at https://kadicinfotechblog.wordpress.com/pre-telegraphy/ or click here or http://wp.me/P8mw7Q-19 (short link).

Design Considerations
At the beginning, I was not sure what to expect so I didn’t have  lot of a considerations aside from building a one-article blog. I knew I wanted to make the site user friendly but I did not know what my options were until I familiarized myself with WordPress. From then on, I considered making different blogs that would link to each site/module and outside sources so that the students can interact while they learn.

Design Challenges
The biggest design challenge I had was figuring out how to make the content relate to the early Pre-telegraphic era while also making it interesting for the audience. Since the Pre-telegraphic era was not developed yet technologically, I decided to use mostly black and white colors. However, I still decided to add a pop of color and an image that I took to each site and blog in order to add  some appeal. To avoid having a monotonous one-article site, I made this module into a user interactive site with a few shorter articles. In order to learn more about each topic for the printing press, students have to click on the next blog article to get to the next section. This way, the text is not all displayed on one screen like many blogs, as that can get uneventful.  

On the other hand, I had some design challenges with WordPress itself. Since this was my first time thoroughly using WordPress, I had to figure out how to use it on my own. How hard can it be to customize your own blogging site? Well if you ask me, the organization of the tools was not user friendly as it took me a long time to figure out where everything was. Because of the edit and view features provided by blogs, it was hard to tell at times which site or blog I was editing. Another detail I found unnecessary was the fact that a new tab opened up every time I needed to review the changes made to the site. There is a preview feature but I feel like WordPress could have made viewing changes a little bit easier for users.


 

MEMO – Proposal

To: Professor Steven Schneider and Ryan Lizardi
From: Azra Kadic
Date: February 2, 2017
Re: Module 2 Pre-telegraphic Proposal Memo 

Pre-telegraphic Information Product
The revolutionary printing press, invented by Johannes Gutenberg in 1440, increased mass communication between individuals. More specifically, the invention gave way to the spread of various information throughout the world, especially religious knowledge.  

Audience
The intended audience for this project would be students who have an interest in the evolution of technology or students who are studying technology, advertising or marketing. 

Platform
The WordPress blogging platform will be used to create this information product. The blog will link to outside resources that will be used for this specific pre-telegraphic project. Throughout the process, I plan to familiarize myself more with the different features in WordPress that can be utilized in relation to this information product.

Additional Details
This project will initially describe the background of the printing press and the process of the invention. From here, I plan to break the project down into the different effects the evolution of the printing press had on people throughout the world. The two topics that will be provided in this project are the rapid communication of knowledge and mass production of books and print materials. 

The printing press empowered rapid communication of knowledge which quickly increased over time. As the printing press evolved, spreading information from one location to another, became easier. One example of this is the spread of knowledge about religions, such as Christianity. Variations in text and typographical errors were eliminated by the utilizing a standardized template for every Bible that was printed. In relation to the Bible, the printing press also generated a mass production of books and print materials. With the development of this technology, it became less and less dependent on human labor and resources as it eventually operated on its’ own.

In addition to this, articles or clips from outside sources will be linked to the blog. This design project might be spread into different articles based on topics instead of having one whole article for all of the information together on one page.

Leave a Reply

